THE BIRD OR THE EGG ~ WHICH CAME FIRST?

(All pictures taken by Marylin Warner in Abilene, KS, and at Rolling Hills Zoo)

(All pictures taken by Marylin Warner in Abilene, KS, and at Rolling Hills Zoo)

 

 

IMG_5069

The question applies to all birds, and today is WORLD EGG DAY. I suppose we could add human females to the list, based on the reproductive system, but we won’t, okay?  After all, we’re including a cooking recipe here…

Before dementia. my mom was an outstanding cook. On short notice—as long as she had eggs and basic ingredients in the refrigerator—she could whip up a tasty dish to fill a lot of hungry tummies. Here’s my favorite egg recipe she taught me:

egg recipe ingredients

 

“Mom’s EGGS A’LA GOLDENROD”

This is a delicious breakfast dish, perfect for special get-togethers on hungry evenings and chilly mornings. If your cholesterol numbers are running low, Eggs A’La Goldenrod will help change that!

You will need:

6 hard boiled eggs if you’re cooking for 3 people; otherwise, hard boil 2 eggs for each person ~plus extras if they’re really hungry ~   1 T. butter and 1 heaping T. flour for every two eggs ~  1/8 t. prepared mustard for every two eggs, or more if you like a lot of mustard   ~ 2/3 c. whole milk for every two eggs (or Almond milk or lowfat milk if you’re health conscious, but what’s the point with all these other ingredients?) ~ and 2 slices of toast or  2 split biscuits for each person participating in this feast.

Salt and pepper to taste while cooking; sprinkle paprika or dill weed on top of the final product.   Mom always added a healthy pinch of garlic salt or garlic powder, too, but she added garlic or chopped onions to everything, so either is optional if you’re not crazy about garlic or onions, or planning to fix this meal for a first date or something.

Here’s what you do:

Over medium heat, melt butter in a decent-sized pan.  Using a wooden spoon, stir in the flour.   (Note: always have wooden spoons on hand.)  Stir in the milk, adding it a little bit at a time.  Keep stirring.  Don’t let it stick or lump up. Add the chopped hard-boiled eggs and mustard.   Stir gently so you don’t mash the eggs like potatoes.

Add salt and pepper.  Add more milk, or more butter and flour, if mixture gets too thick or too thin.  Stir some more. (This is one of the extra benefits of Eggs A’la Goldenrod; you’ll have strong arms. To keep your arm muscles looking balanced, switch hands while stirring.) When everything is hot and yummy, ladle it over the toast or split biscuits. Sprinkle with paprika or dill weed and serve.

Very important reminder:

Before eating, have everyone at the table join hands, and ask someone ~ usually the dad, but moms and kids are good, too ~ to ask the blessing.  Just being around the table together, eating and laughing and talking, is a good reason to be thankful.  But don’t let the prayer drag on and on. Eggs are definitely more tasty when they’re eaten hot.

_______________________________

This was the first recipe I posted on my blog. It was August 2011, and my mom was thinking much more clearly then. She wasn’t sure what a blog was, but she said to invite all my blog friends over and she would help me make a big batch of Eggs A’La Goldenrod.

Consider yourselves invited. It’s World Egg Day, after all, and you’re our blog friends.

P.S.  U.K. author Angela Carter said, “A day without an argument is like an egg without salt.”   Whatever that means…

Benjamin Franklin wrote: "An egg today is better than a hen tomorrow."  (Again, interpret that as you will.)

Benjamin Franklin wrote: “An egg today is better than a hen tomorrow.” (Again, interpret that as you will.)

73 Comments

Filed under Cooking With Mom, Dementia/Alzheimer's, just doing the best we can, lessons about life, lessons for great-grandchildren, October glory, recipes, special quotations

73 responses to “THE BIRD OR THE EGG ~ WHICH CAME FIRST?

  1. juliabarrett

    Oh, this is such a Midwestern recipe! Haven’t eaten it since I left Iowa. But I remember! I’m so glad your mother understood when you first posted this recipe. We ate eggs for supper.

  2. I got so hungry for this recipe as I was writing it, Julia, and it’s starting to cold in the evenings here. But the real reason I’m going to hard boil some eggs and make a batch of Mom’s Eggs A’La Goldenrod is that I miss the “good old days” when she could understand and participate.

  3. Will defintely have to try this next egg-night.
    Do you serve it with a salad?

    Not sure how a virtual dinner party would work, but thanks for the virtual invitation.

    Now I need to get cracking

    • Yes, get cracking, Rod! 😉
      Unfortunately, this will indeed have to be a virtual dinner party, but with Mom’s advanced dementia now, it’s the best we can do on several levels. I can’t believe it’s been more than 4 years I’ve been doing this.
      To answer your question, a salad is a very good side dish, and if you make homemade biscuits, it’s a really big meal. Mom made her own applesauce in the summer and froze extra containers, and I remember applesauce–or slices of fresh apples and oranges–went well with this, too.

  4. In Germay this dish is called Eier in Senfsoße ( eggs in mustard sauce) . It’s a white sauce flavored with mustard . It is served with boiled potatoes. I loved it when I was a child.

    • Maybe my mother’s German and Pennsylvania Dutch background influenced her love of this dish, Gerlinde! Boiled potatoes would be good with this, too. I do remember that one winter night Mom served the Eggs A’La Goldenrod over biscuits, with two side dishes: one was applesauce, and the other was boiled red potatoes with carrots.

  5. Don

    Wow! Marylin, sounds delicious. I’m always amazed at what you can do with eggs.

  6. I like the folksy nature of the recipe recital: “If this . . . then that” and ” To keep your arm muscles looking balanced, switch hands while stirring.”

    Recently I discovered on Facebook a restaurant offering breakfast and brunch named The Chicken and the Egg. Another Facebook oddity: A reader ordered both the chicken and an egg from the internet, whichever came first was determined to be the winner. Lame but funny, at least to someone – ha!

    • Whichever order came first was the winner and won the debate! What a way to settle a long debated issue, Marian. Right up there with tossing a coin! 😉
      I like the folksy details I remembered and could include in the recipe, too. It’s sad now that my mom doesn’t remember this popular fall-back dish to serve lots of visitors and friends during the winter.

  7. Aw Marylin – I was going to do my staple comfort food tonight – macaroni cheese with olive bread…now I think I might alter it a little and boil up some eggs…

    • Let me know how you like it, Jenny. For us, it’s especially enjoyed when it’s cold, rainy or blowing snow. For a long time, this dish was a staple comfort food, though your macaroni and cheese with olive bread sounds very tempting to me!

  8. The egg recipe reminded me of a recipe called Nuns’ Toast. When I went to look for it in my very old recipe book, I saw not only Nuns’ Toast but a recipe called Eggs a La Goldenrod. I have had this recipe book for at least 33 years and this is the first time I have noticed the Goldenrod recipe!!!!! The only difference I can see between Nuns’ Toast and Goldenrod is that Nuns’ Toast specifies onions, whereas Goldenrod omits them. The recipe book is one that is common in most New Zealand households and has been so for as long as I can remember.

    • Gallivanta, you amaze me with your findings! My mom is 97, and she started making this recipe when she and my dad were first married in 1944. When I first posted this in 2011, my cousin (her dad was my mom’s younger brother) said they used to eat it on the farm, but they called it Egg Gravy. So many names for one recipe. I love the Nuns’ Toast name.

  9. World egg day! I hadn’t heard of that one. As for the quote from Benjamin Franklin – without any hens tomorrow there wouldn’t be any eggs today – not that’s not quite right – without any hens today there wouldn’t be eggs tomorrow! Oh well. Maybe I’m just as daft as he! 🙂

  10. Thanks for sharing this family recipe. I have not heard of it before so would love to try it. We usually have omelettes for egg night and sometimes eggs Benedict.

  11. Thanks for sharing this family recipe. I have not heard of it before so would love to try it. We usually have omelettes for egg night and sometimes eggs Benedict. It is Thanksgiving in Canada this weekend so a perfect post!!

    • It’s Thanksgiving in Canada this weekend? Wow! You could have turkey for dinner (if that’s what you usually serve), and then for brunch the next morning you can serve the family Eggs A’La Goldenrod!
      Happy Thanksgiving, Darlene!

  12. A mother’s cooking has so many meanings for her children. Sometimes I will get a message from our oldest daughter before she comes home for a visit with her advance requests for recipes. I try to honor them when I can. My ability to still do this for her is part of her sense of being loved and protected in the world. On the other hand, I do feel some mild loss and grief when I visit my mother now days, and we eat out, I cook, or my stepfather boils hot dogs. My Mom can still cook well but she has less energy so her efforts are fewer and farther between….did get a nice meatloaf at the last visit but health conscious Mom had made it with such an expensive and low fat choice of beef that I almost didn’t recognize it. In cases like that, I would rather revisit childhood properly and take my chances with my cholesterol numbers later!

  13. Thanks for sharing your mother’s recipe, Marylin. It sounds delicious. I’m a huge fan of eggs. For years, I’ve eaten two hard boiled eggs for breakfast before work. On the weekends, it’s omelets. By the way, my cholesterol is excellent. It’s my understanding that eggs do raise your cholesterol, but they raise the HDL, which is the good stuff.

    • I love hard boiled eggs, too, Jill. I keep a bowl in the refrigerator, and on days I know will be busy with probably little time for lunch, I make toast, spread on butter and honey, and slice a hard boiled egg on each piece and sprinkle with pepper and a little salt. And my cholesterol is good, too, plus it gives me an energy other breakfasts don’t.
      If you do make this recipe, make extra to reheat in the microwave for a fast breakfast!

      • Thanks for sharing your recipe, Marylin. I’ll give it a try. You’re right, the protein in the eggs keeps you going longer than cereal or pancakes. Sometimes I eat a cheese stick with my eggs…yes, more cholesterol. 🙂

      • Eggs, cheese…a glass of wine. Not for breakfast, but in the evening, and then you’ll have energy (or mellowness) for writing, Jill! 🙂

  14. Jim

    Eggselent recipe, Marylin! I certainly remember your mom’s tasty Eggs Goldenrod. And the bird pictures were great too. 🙂

  15. Eggselent! We’ll have this for dinner tonight, honey! 🙂

  16. No need to egg me on, Marylin, I’ll be right on over. Your mom’s recipe sounds delish. I especially love my hard boiled eggs made into deviled eggs. 😉

  17. It really is good, Judy. The next time you hard boil eggs to make deviled eggs (another favorite of mine) hard boil extras and try some Eggs A’La Goldenrod. I think you’ll enjoy it!

  18. Great post, Marylin! I have to try the recipe! But even better would be if I could join you and your mother….that would be a heart-warming delight! XX

    • That would be a delight, Robyn. And if Mom could still stir the mix, changing hands and smiling while the biscuits baked, think of the wonderful pictures you could capture. Sigh. Days gone by, but such good memories for me.

  19. I’ve never heard of making eggs this way Marylin! But we have nine chickens and are always looking for new egg recipes. The eggs our chickens lay are so good, we often just make them sunny side up and enjoy them simply.
    I will save your recipe and try it sometime soon. And yes, I too love wooden spoons. xoxo

    • My mom always said that wooden spoons were the best for stirring anything she was cooking…didn’t leave a metallic taste.
      When you have a houseful of family coming for breakfast (or staying over and having breakfast, Joanne) this is a great egg dish to fix. And while someone makes the biscuits, others can cut up fruit for side dishes, make coffee and take turns stirring the eggs! A family meal! 🙂

  20. The recipe sounds delicious, but more importantly the sharing 🙂

  21. Molly

    I am not sure the babies have ever had this, you may have to make it next time we are all together.

    I remember grandma bringing the toaster to the dinning room table when we would have this so we could all stay at the table together. We would have grandma’s cinnamon applesauce with it, fresh from the garage freezer.

    Mmmmm, I am really hungry for grandma’s breakfast! Thanks for reminding me how yummy it all was!

    • I thought for sure Grandma had made it for you when you were growing up, Molly. But if she didn’t, then I promise I will make Eggs A’La Goldenrod for brunch for the entire family. We will continue the tradition!
      😉

  22. There’s something so satisfying about egg dishes. My grandma made be a soft boiled egg spooned over torn bits of toast in a cup when I was recovering from being sick. Salt and pepper on top. It’s one of the ten best meals I ever ate in terms of satisfying not just my body but my soul.

    And a meal is always better with hands held around the table and gratitude — grace– in our hearts.

    • My mother told me that she came home from college her freshman year with a horrible cold, a fever, and an upset stomach. Her mother fixed her poached eggs and served them over toast, and a cup of peppermint tea. When she told me about it, Shirley, it had happened at least 30+ years earlier. But the memory still held such love, care, concern and motherly healing touch that Mom said that became her touchstone of the kind of mother she wanted to become when she had children.

  23. Nancy Parker Brummett

    Thanks, Marylin. You’re a good egg all the time! 🙂

  24. I like that, Nancy! Thanks for the compliment! 🙂

  25. You “cracked” me up reading this post, Marylin. I love your sense of humor. And although I don’t like to cook, this recipe sounds easy enough even for me. 🙂

    • Oh, Tracy, I’m having so much fun with the egg terms–that I’m a good egg, that I cracked you up, Eggselent recipe, and no need to egg anyone on. 🙂 When I visit Mom again in two weeks, I’m taking a list of these comments and egg words to share with her. I’ll include them when I read to her at night when I read Children’s Poems and Prayers book to her, Just in case she’s having a moment of clarity–and it usually is at night when I’m reading to her–I think she’ll enjoy these.

      • Marylin, please keep me and your readers informed about your mom’s reaction to this blog post you’ll share in two weeks. So glad to hear your mom does have moments of clarity. I’ll still need to order the Poems and Prayers book (it’s on my wish list though). 🙂

  26. You come up with such interesting celebration days. Where do you get this information from?

    • One of my favorite quiet places to go and relax and read is the smallest and oldest library in our city. It’s only a few miles from our house, and the reference are has the most interest books, Elizabeth. Some of these special/unusual days were so designated years ago and are found in old Farmer Almanac Books, etc. Others are interesting sidebars in more current publications and magazines. I have so much fun looking for these little gems, Elizabeth, and then I go across the street to a little coffee shop! 🙂

  27. Good to see your beautiful post Marilyn …love it ..

  28. I’m actually going to make this, this weekend, Marylin! It sounds so homey and delicious–and I always have all the ingredients on hand!

    I have duly noted, and will: not use onions/garlic when I make this for a first date; switch stirring hands to ensure a balanced workout; keep the blessing short (a requirement in our house, anyway!); and make sure to engage in a mild little argument every day.

    I think I know what that means: constant, unvaried agreement in a relationship turns bland. But, too much strife is like over-salting. An egg needs but a few grains of salt to taste exactly right.

    Thanks for everything, my friend. And even though we’ve never argued, my life would be bland without you.

    So, I amend the quote: A day without a mild argument or the intelligent wit of a friend is like an egg without salt. ❤

    • Oh, Tracy, I love how you amended this quote! You have a wonderful way of sorting details and coming up with a new and improved interpretation. You are definitely a dash of salt that adds flavor to every conversation! Thank you. 🙂

  29. Oh my, this sounds absolutely delicious Marylin, thank you so much for posting it, the perfect autumn brunch 😉 I’ve never heard of World Egg Day, ever! Love the photos, gave me a giggle. The ‘Challenge Butter’ pack brought back instant memories of my baking days back in America. Funny isn’t it how things like that are so evocative of stages in our life, like the way smells can take us right back to a place from our past. An egg without salt is bland, but there is nothing bland about this post or you dear friend. Visiting you here is an absolute treasure. Oh…and I’ll let you know when I’ve made ‘Mom’s Eggs A’La Goldenrod’ 😀 Have a wonderful weekend Marylin!

    • Sherri, I can feel the ocean waves ripple between our countries when you write. It’s a former California now British flavor that is delightful. Thank you for this; you’re right about smells and sounds can take us back to memories, and I will count on hearing from you after you make my mom’s Eggs A’La Goldenrod! 🙂

      • You can count on it Marylin 🙂 And I have to say that you are the second person to tell me this about my writing this week, which both astounds and blesses me no end. We spent the weekend with my boys and eldest son Michael’s girlfriend Claire. I think of her as my daughter in law even though they aren’t married, but lived together for years, and she is just lovely for so many reasons. Anyway, she told me how much she enjoyed reading my ‘Art of Memoir’ book review and then said she likes the way I write with both an English and American expression, making sense to both. I was staggered, as I often think I have to be careful as I do genuinely forget sometimes what is what when it comes to sayings and expressions! Just the other day, someone laughed at me because I used the word ‘sweatpants’. Don’t they use that here? Well, search me! Obviously not, ha!! This happens a lot. So to read you telling me this now really blows me away, as to be honest, I can’t write authentically if I try to force a certain ‘voice’. I just hope that publishers agree and don’t tell me off! Bless you dear Marylin, have a wonderful week ahead, and thank you as always for your wonderful encouragement, I’m beaming 🙂

      • Sherri, your writing is such a wonderful expression of your personality. It’s a joy to read your projects!

      • Aww…thanks so much Marylin…you’re a joy!!

  30. I love all of the tips you sprinkle throughout the recipe. So funny.

  31. Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this.
    Very interesting information.

  32. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that.
    And he just bought me lunch because I found it for
    him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  33. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your web site is very cool.
    I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site.
    It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject.
    Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles.

    You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already
    searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across.
    What a great web-site.

  34. I have been surfing online greater than three hours these days, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article
    like yours. It’s lovely price enough for me. Personally, if all web
    owners and bloggers made just right content material as you
    did, the net will likely be much more useful than ever before.

  35. I like this site so much, saved to bookmarks.

  36. You have remarked very interesting details! ps nice
    site.

  37. I am glad to be one of several visitants
    on this great site (:, thank you for putting up.

  38. Only wanna tell that this is very helpful, Thanks for
    taking your time to write this.

  39. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this.
    We got a grab a book from our local library but
    I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to
    see such great information being shared freely out there.

  40. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is very cool.
    I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this site.

    It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject.

    Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles.
    You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the info I already
    searched all over the place and simply couldn’t come across.
    What an ideal site.

Leave a Reply

