NEVER ANSWER AN ANONYMOUS LETTER

All pictures by KAKE News covering the death of Yogi Berra

All pictures by KAKE TV News covering the death of  Yogi Berra on Sept. 22, 2015

black and white pic of Yogi

 

Last week’s topic was bullying, featuring the summary of a radio account of one afternoon when adults, children, and students were all involved.   Thanks to all of you for your comments and suggestions, and as promised, I’ve added a few of the radio call-in responses.  They are now posted in the end comment box of last week’s blog. (Brace yourself for the first one; it’s one that none of you came even close to suggesting! It would detract from this week’s tribute and quotes.)

 

This week I’m sharing very different—and very creative and entertaining—examples of free speech. Yogi-isms.

Laurence Peter Yogi Berra died September 22nd at the age of 90. During his baseball career, Yogi Berra was MVP three times, fifteen times an all star, and won ten World Series.  In eighteen seasons with the NY Yankees, he hit 358 home runs and drove in 1,430 runs. He later managed both the Yankees and the NY Mets, and after retirement he was a welcomed visitor in the Yankee locker room . Yogi Berra was a team player, a family man, a good guy, and one of professional baseball’s most famous figures, known as much for his quips as for his excellence on the field.

His Yogi-isms didn’t bully or hurt anyone else.  They make us smile, even now.  Here are some of my favorites:

“Baseball is 90% mental and the other half is physical.” ~ “Even Napoleon had his Watergate.” ~ “He hits from both sides of the plate. He’s amphibious.” ~ “Never answer an anonymous letter.” ~ “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” ~ “So I’m ugly. (In baseball) I never saw anyone hit with his face.”  ~ And after streakers ran naked across the field, Yogi was asked if the streakers were male or female.  He answered, “I don’t know. They had bags over their heads.”

Yogi’s wife Carmen once cited all the places they’d lived and worked. She asked him, if she outlived Yogi, where he’d like to be buried. His answer: “Surprise me.”   Which fits well with this closing Yogi-ism: “Always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise they won’t come to yours.”

Thank you for making us smile, Yogi.  My parents loved your Yogi-isms, and so do I.

The future : Yogi Berra

Yogi waving

 

46 Comments

Filed under Dementia/Alzheimer's, just doing the best we can, lessons about life, life questions, making a difference, special quotations

46 responses to “NEVER ANSWER AN ANONYMOUS LETTER

  1. juliabarrett

    He was so right about so many things! He makes me laugh now. But he was a little before my time then. I like the– surprise me. Good philosophy.

    • After my dad died and I was removing boxes from his closet, Julia, inside a shoebox I found scraps of paper and notecards with quotes he’d heard on GUNSMOKE and other favorite TV programs, and also quotes by Billy Graham and other leaders…but there were sport quotes by only one, Yogi. From that point on, I’ve appreciated Yogi Berra. Every time I hear a new Yogi-ism, I hear my dad laughing.

  2. I love these Yogi -isms, Marylin. We were always very fond of Spike Milligan in our family – an old school British comedian, much favoured by Prince Charles. Two of his famous quotes come to mind.
    “Money can’t buy you friends but you get a better class of enemy”
    And:
    “All men are cremated equal”
    It is rumoured that on his headstone are the words “I told you I was ill.”

  3. A great person and a great sportsman as well.

  4. A top athlete and humorist, unbeatable combination. I’ll add to your stockpile of quotes here: “It ain’t the heat, it’s the humility” of which he had a good dose in spite of his fame. Great tribute to an honorable man. Thank you, Marylin!

    • The heat and humidity quote is one I’d never heard, Marian. When his son Dale was asked what it was like being Yogi’s son, he said, “You cant compare me to my father. Our similarities are different.” 😉

  5. Thanks for sharing… What a great perspective this man had on the world …

    • My dad always said he could tell if Yogi realized he was saying something incorrectly, or if he was just adding humor…but either way, they made him laugh. One of his favorites that Dad used to paraphrase when business wasn’t doing well was this by Yogi: “Slump? I ain’t in no slump…I just ain’t hitting.” 🙂

  6. Gorgeous. What a great man he was. I love his comment about the streakers. I’ll be smiling about that all day! 🙂
    xoxo Joanne

    • Oh, Joanne, that one makes me laugh every time I think of it. I’m just not sure if he was being polite and saying he didn’t look lower than their heads, or if he really was oblivious. Either way, it makes me laugh.

  7. My favourite us “it’s dejavu all over again”.
    Jenny, Spike was a favourite of mine too. His little book of poems is wonderful. I loved one of his comments on a Goons Record. “he died if indecent exposure”.

    Nice tribute to Yogi Marylin

    • Thanks to both you and Jenny, Rod. Without you two pointing this out, I never would have know that both our countries had such treasures! Both mean left us laughing, and that’s a wonderful way to be remembered.

  8. Nancy Parker Brummett

    Love these! Didn’t he also say, “I didn’t really say what I said.” Well, he said plenty! Miss you, Yogi. Rest in peace.

    • I read a short obituary tribute on Yogi on Wednesday, written by a baseball fan who was also a journalist for (I think) the Chicago Tribune when Yogi was a manager for the Mets. In the tribute he says that once Yogi said “I didn’t really say what I said.” The journalist asked him to tell him of one thing attributed to him that shouldn’t have been. Yogi thought, and then he said well, maybe he did say it, or something like it…or should have said it. 🙂

  9. Claudia

    I don’t do baseball, but I do remember this man. It was a simpler time when folks could say simple things, lighthearted things. We need to return to it….
    Autumn weekend ahead…hope yours is great…a Colorado weekend must be gorgeous for Saturday. Are aspens turning yet? Enjoy!

    • It was a simpler time when folks could say simple and lighthearted things, and we could enjoy and appreciate them for what they were. There are times when I really miss the Yogi-kind of humor.
      Colorado’s weekend is going to be gorgeous, Claudia, but it will be the next weekend–especially if we get moisture and cooler temps–that the aspens will begin turning. When I was visiting Mom in Ft. Scott, I thought about how pretty the trees would be soon. I miss that part of the country in the autumn.

  10. calvin

    I am a baseball fan, believe it or not. But Yogi was more than baseball; I am with your parents, you and others. Yes he broke records, that no one, and I repeat, no one, will ever come close to surpassing and that is a fact. But it is the whole man that beamed above others. So I thank you for this, and activate the KISS method to express my appreciation for this man’s life – I applaud his life as loud I can by silently clapping with a smile on my face.

  11. Hilarious! I had only heard a couple of these, so thank you for sharing the rest! Now I have to scramble over and look at that bully post. Sounds like maybe I should take a Valium first, huh? Bound to be a hair raiser….

    • Let me know what you think about the first man’s scorcher, Jane. When I read that, I appreciated the woman’s call-in comment. But the whole thing was troubling on several levels, beginning with the mother’s reaction to the possible bullying and then all the way to the opening caller response.

  12. A creative and inspiring post, Marylin! I’ve always enjoyed “Yogi – isms”! You summarized them perfectly in your post!

    • Thanks, Robyn. My dad really enjoyed Yogi’s quotes, and enjoying them now makes me remember how my dad used to laugh. The Alzheimer’s faded that laughter, so it’s a gift to remember it now because of Yogi’s phrases.

  13. I love his quotes. They will live on. A nice tribute.

  14. Although I’m not fan of baseball (pitch the ball already), Yogi was a class act. Wonderful tribute to a great man, Marylin.

  15. Molly

    These Yogi-isms are absolutely precious. I never realized how funny this guy was…thanks for sharing so the kids and I will understand how neat he was.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed these, Mookie. You might pass over the streaking quote; we don’t want Gannon getting any ideas 😉 or thinking about why the quote about “their heads were covered” is so funny.
      You grandpa–my dad–used to get a kick out of Yogi’s confusing statements. I remember Dad laughing at the one I used as the title: “Never answer an anonymous letter.”

  16. I bet this post would be Yogi-approved, Marylin, because once again he (through you) left us smiling!

  17. Marylin … Beautiful tribute to a great catcher and a great man. I loved the Yogi quotes. “It ain’t over til it’s over.” “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” His blending of humor and philosophical quotes were always a treat. 😉

    • It’s refreshing to realize that some stand-out athletes could also be stand-up men, isn’t it? I think I was hungry for Yogi-isms after all the turmoil, deceits and conflicts of interest that get all the attention now. I guess I was ready to get back to simpler times, Judy.

  18. Jim

    I cherish Yogi Berra as a one-of-kind, national treasure.

    It hasn’t always been that way for me. When I was a little boy growing up in Colorado, we had no major league team, so all we boys would choose a team to follow and give each other the business when our team won. I had seen a kids’ movie called “Rhubarb.” The star was a fictional tabby cat named Rhubarb that brought good luck to the Brooklyn Dodgers when they petted him. The Dodgers went on to win the World Series against the Yankees. (At least in the movie the Dodgers won.) So I adopted the Brooklyn Dodgers as my team because they had Rhubarb and I liked cats. However, as I started to pay attention to the standings and my Dodgers, the Yankees started stacking up World Series championships like bails of hay while my Dodgers won only one World Series that I can remember. Why? Two reasons: Mickey Mantel and a squatty catcher named Yogi Berra. If only “Rhubarb” had been about the Yankees!

    RIP, Yogi. You are much loved and remembered, even by a Dodger fan.

    P.S. I quit liking the Dodgers when they moved to Los Angeles. 😦

  19. Rhubarb sounds like the kind of reason I’d use to choose a team, Jim. If the cat and Yogi could have been on the same team–or now, if Rhubarb could be the mascot for the Rockies–it would definitely be the tipping point for me to take a real interest! 🙂
    Thanks, Honey. I love the image of a squatty catcher with winning talents and funny sayings becoming a star!

  20. Hi Marylin, I don’t know how I missed this post, it got buried in my stack of emails. I always look forward to your posts. Some funny, some thought provoking, some heartwarming…etc. I’m not a baseball fan, but I sure knew who Yogi Berra was. May he R.I.P. 🙂

  21. Congrats for the noteworthy blog you’ve created. Your enthusiastic take on the subject is absolutely inspiring. Thanks again!

  22. I more or less share your opinion on this topic and look forward to new posts and comments here at https://warnerwriting.wordpress.com. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

