SORRY ‘BOUT THE DUCKS, MOM

"Four legs good, two legs bad." ~George Orwell, ANIMAL FARM. (all photos by Marylin Warner)

“Four legs good, two legs bad.” ~George Orwell, ANIMAL FARM. (all photos by Marylin Warner)

"If frogs had side pockets, they'd carry hand guns." ~ Dan Rather

“If frogs had side pockets, they’d carry hand guns.”
~ Dan Rather

Last week wasn’t what we’d planned.  It wasn’t what the ducks planned either, I’m sure, but the fox made out okay.

This week we’re getting back into the swing of things.  August is “Admit You’re Happy Month,” and since it’s still August, we going to admit we’re happy to focus on animals other than ducks.

Here are some pictures and quotes to enjoy.  (Feel free to add your own quotes…but please, no recipes for Duck a l’Orange.)

“Animals don’t lie. Animals don’t criticize. If animals have moody days, they handle them better than humans do.”  ~Betty White

“People who really appreciated animals always asked their names.”  ~Lilian Jackson Braun, The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern

“If you want to test cosmetics, why do it on some poor animal who hasn’t done anything? They should use prisoners who have been convicted of murder or rape instead. So, rather than seeing if perfume irritates a bunny rabbit’s eyes, they should throw it in Charles Manson’s eyes and ask him if it hurts.”  ~Ellen DeGeneres, My Point…And I Do Have One

I always hated those classic kid movies like Old Yeller or The Yearling where the beloved pet dies. What would be so wrong with having those damn kids learn their lessons about mortality from watching Grandpa kick? Then at least the dog would be around to comfort them.”  ~Merrill Markoe, Walking in Circles Before Lying Down

“I think using animals for food is an ethical thing to do, but we’ve got to do it right. We’ve got to give those animals a decent life and we’ve got to give them a painless death. We owe the animal respect.”  ~Temple Grandin

Handmade alligator bench.

Handmade alligator bench.

   “A few alligators are naturally of the vicious type and inclinded to resent it when you prod them with a stick.                You can find out which ones these are by prodding them.”  ~Will Cuppy

“Platypus? I thought it was pronounced platymapus. Has it always been pronounced platypus?”  ~Jessica Simpson

“And the fox said to the little prince: men have forgotten this truth, but you must not forget it. You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.”  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Everybody knows pottery gargoyle bells are timid animals and hide beside house plants.

Everybody knows pottery gargoyle bells are timid animals and hide beside house plants.

37 Comments

Filed under art projects, Dementia/Alzheimer's, lessons about life, making a difference, memories for great-grandchildren, Quilting projects, special quotations

37 responses to “SORRY ‘BOUT THE DUCKS, MOM

  1. molly

    Oh what a spark some of these quotz bring to mind! Remind me next time we are together to go through all your cosmetics and toiletries to make sure they haven’t been tested on animals! Oh, and I am sure none of your new shoes are leather, right?

    Well, you can’t blame a girl for trying to make the world a better place!

    Love you! 🙂

    • That’s why I listed a variety of quotes!! ;=)
      I’m not at all against testing, just don’t do it on animals. Like Ellen, I vote to do the testing on Charles Manson types! He can keep the makeup afterwards and wear it in his cell afterwards, too!

  2. In bacon and eggs – the chicken is involved but the pig is committed. Author unknown to me.
    I don’t think I’ll try poking an alligator with a stick – or any other creature for that matter. Lovely post.
    It’s August and I’m happy!

  3. The chicken is involved–the pig is committed. YES! excellent quote, Rod.
    And I came across another, this one for family disputs: “Infant wart hogs resemble both sides of the family.” (Will Cuppy again: How to Attract the Wombat)

  4. juliabarrett

    I’m with Merrill Markoe– to this day I hate those damn movies (and books) with a grand passion. Kids can learn lessons sans the heartbreak.
    Funny. I remember every dog’s name but not his or her owner’s.

    • We’re the same way, Julia, and in reverse, too. On the off-leash trails or on hikes, people with their dogs will say, “Oh look, there’s Maggie!” They know her name but not ours.
      And then the fun continues back in the parking lot. We see bumper stickers with messages like this: “My Poodle is smarter than your Honors Student!”
      You’ve gotta love dog owners…er, parents.

  5. I read this last night: “I am I because my little dog knows me” referenced to Gertrude Stein but I believe it is a Mother Goose nursery rhyme. I think it is such a sweet line. Makes me happy on this August Day.

  6. Jim

    Well, Marylin, I always got a kick out of watching your dad go into the backyard after a long day at the dealership and ask his dog, “Fritz, wanna talk?” Fritz would then jump up onto the picnic table and sit attentively as Ray inquired how Fritz’s day had been. There was little petting, just talk. Fritz was focused and showed an interest in every word Ray spoke. He answered your dad with a whimper or little squeal or with his eyes, what little of his eyes that could be seen through his shaggy hair. The two seemed to have a special bond through language, not petting. I’ve never seen anything like it.

    • You describe it perfectly, honey. This was their ritual, and Fritz wouldn’t jump up on the table for any other reason. After all these years I’d forgotten this, so I’m glad you reminded me.

  7. Growing up in the 1960s, we watched a lot of westerns on the old black and white. One Sunday evening, horses and riders thundering across the plain, the hero’s horse stumbled. My younger sister screamed. Mom, trying to comfort her said, “Don’t worry Patty, the ranger is okay. It’s just a movie.” True to form, 7-year-old Patty wailed, “I don’t care about the man. Is the horse okay?!”

    • I’m with your sister Patty! And now we realize that of course the actors were safe–but back in the 60s they hadn’t yet set safety standards and requirements for the animals used on the sets–we can really appreciate Patty’s concern!

  8. Love the Merrill Markoe quote, Marylin. I only watched Old Yeller one time in my childhood and once was enough. By the way, I’m so happy! 🙂

    • Yes, Jill! Make the most of this happy month.
      I still remember all the movies–the one she mentions plus SOUNDER, and the most recent, WAR HORSE–and I agree with Markoe. Movies where people die, those I know are acting; but when animals are hurt or die, I’m not so sure.

  9. I love that August is “Admit you’re happy” month. I’m going to admit it every day.

  10. When I first started teaching, I fell in love with “No More Dead Dogs” by Gordon Korman. Wallace Wallace, the main character, hates a book that his English teacher (why is it always an English teacher who’s the bad guy?) insists he write a report on. Wallace hates classic novels where the dog croaks in the end. He told his teacher he knew the dog was going to die before he started reading the first page.
    “Don’t be ridiculous,” the teacher snapped. ‘How?”
    (Wallace) shrugged, “Because the dog always dies. Go to the library and pick out a book with an award sticker and a dog on the cover. Trust me, that dog is going down.”
    Then, Wallace turns the tables on the teacher’s favorite book when he gets involved in a play based on the book. 🙂

    • WHY do English teachers always get the bum rap? Without us and the poetry, short stories and novels we assign, I guess students wouldn’t have easy targets to criticize. At least “No More Dead Dogs” doesn’t end with a shoot-out in the classroom, like so many movies today.

  11. I don’t like those sad movies either where the animals die. And I sure don’t like that they do all those tests on innocent animals that have feeling and pain. There surely is another way to do the testing.

    • You’re right; surely there is a better way. For lack of a better idea, I find Ellen DeGeneres’ comic suggestion about Charles Manson a possibility. Thanks for stopping by. Please join us again.

  12. hi Marylin,
    I like your quotations!
    “If frogs had side pockets,
    they’d carry hand guns.”
    ~ Dan Rather

  13. Forest So Green

    I really like the alligator bench, especially with the snow in the photo 🙂 Annie

  14. snoopys@snoopysdogblog

    I really liked the quote about asking the animals name, my Mum always does that when we meet new ones and she mostly forgets to ask or doesn’t remember the humans name – ooops! Last week when she saw a Bear, by the time she’d posted the video on facebook she’d already named the Bear Bertie! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Snoopy. When we take our Maggie on hikes, she’s friendly and eager to meet new people. They always ask her name, and of course that makes her wiggle even more, but they don’t ask ours. You dogs steal the show!

  15. “If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous he will not bite you. This is the principal difference between a dog and man.” Mark Twain

    great post, loved the responses too

    sorry been away but I think it is all those candles that have dragged me back xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Ah, Mark Twain at his vintage best. Good quote, Tom.
      Now that the Royal Baby is here, I hope all the doctors can focus on getting you up and running again.
      Those candles have power: Light them with love, watch them flicker with hope, and trust that all will be well. The Cathedral of the Plains now has had candles in all colors lighting the way for you! Many hugs, Tom. Hang in there.

  16. hi Marylin,
    I really like the quotations!
    “If frogs had side pockets,
    they’d carry hand guns.”

  17. I like your quotes. Only test cosmetics on nasty animals, I say – like Charles Manson or perhaps Australia’s Backpacker Murderer.

Leave a Reply

