“Christmas Memories with Mom” Winner(s) Announced!

What a varied and amazing group of entries I received.  Thank you all for sharing your memories.  The stories were touching, funny, charming, sad…and wonderful.  Through your stories, I feel I know you as more than fellow writers. Now you are friends.

Three judges read all the stories–without consulting or comparing their choices–and this evening I received the scores.  When the totals were in, the first place winner was only a few points higher than two second place winners who were tied.  Such talent, and all three deserve a prize!

The first place winner will receive a $25 gift card to her choice of Starbuck’s or Amazon.  The two second place winners will each receive a $10 gift card.

And now–drum roll, please!–the winners:

FIRST PLACE:  “Christmas With Mom” 

by Leslie Hobson of King, Ontario

It’s that smell that brings it all back.  Some heady combination of pine tree, cinnamon candles and cookies.  The feeling in my stomach of anticipation so strong that I can’t sleep.  I sneak from my bed and watch her sitting by the Christmas tree–its multi-colored lights and the crackling fire are the only lights in the room.  She hums a carol softly to herself and I feel warm and safe as I tiptoe back to my bed.

This Christmas, she’s in a locked ward and ther memories are lost.  Sometimes she doesn’t know me–but I remember her.

SECOND PLACE (TIE):  “Gingerbread”

by Jaime Norwood of  Anthony, Kansas

 Gumdrop shingles.  Candy cane siding.  Frosted orange slice shutters.  Cobblestone hard candies of various colors.  Someone’s been eating all the chocolate fence posts, and I know who!  I caught her wide-eyed on Christmas Eve with cherry cream filling on her lips and a guilty little smile.  She breaks off the prized peppermint patty chimney all covered in icing, and hands it to me with a wink.

It’s a sneaky little secrt my grandmother and I share one delightful Christmas Day.

SECOND PLACE (TIE):  “Christmas With Mom”

by Mary Zalmanek of Monument, Colorado

 We knew that Christmas 2004 would be my dad’s last.  I could see the fears on my mom’s face, in her gentle attentiveness to him, in their sweet conversations.  I bought birthday and other special occassion cards that would be sent in the future from him to my mom, his children and grandchildren.  He signed them before he died in March.

I mailed a Christmas card from my dad to my mom in December.  A few days later, my mom called.  “Last night I dreamed your dad said he had a message for me, and today I got his card.”

________________________________

With special thanks to all the writers who entered stories, to the judges who gave each entry careful consideration, and to author Jaye W. Manus, who loves good writing and supporting writers.  She will be posting the winners on her fiction blog.


19 Comments

Filed under "Christmas Memories With Mom"

19 responses to ““Christmas Memories with Mom” Winner(s) Announced!

  1. Your contest enabled us to open our hearts and warm those of anyone who read each entry. Thank you so much, Marylin.

    • Thank you, Vivian. The judges agreed with me that there was a wonderful connectedness for all of us as we shared our memories. I appreciate your entry, your attitude, and your overall spirit.

  2. Thank you again for letting me be a part of this, Marylin. I hope the winners don’t mind the extra trumpets and good for you’s I posted over on my blog, too.

    http://mustlovefiction.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/an-early-christmas-gift-for-you-winners-of-the-memories-writing-contest/

  3. Congratulations to the winners – you all deserve it! Marylin, thanks again for hosting this contest. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all! 🙂

  4. Marylin~Thanks so much! If you wouldn’t mind, it would mean a great deal to me if you would donate my gift card to a women’s shelter or other facility in your area that could use a little bit of Holiday cheer this season.

    lesliehobson@sympatico.ca

    • Bless your heart, Leslie. What a generous offer. I promise you that I will donate the cash to one of the deserving women’s shelters of El Paso County, Colorado. They can probably use the cash more than a gift card for coffee, but I will call first and see what they need.
      You are generous as well as talented. Thank you, and Merry Christmas.
      It’s been a pleasure meeting you through the contest.
      Marylin

  5. Wonderful stories. Delightful contest.

  6. rose

    Congratulations! So sweet. I enjoyed reading everyone’s memories.

  7. Thanks for the great contest. I loved writing for it because it brought back so many memories.

  8. Pingback: I Created A Monster | J W Manus

  9. Congratulations to all … I. Can hardly speak lovely choices.

  10. Congratulations to the winners! And thank you Marilyn for the contest. It was great fun!

  11. Pingback: A Quick Update | J W Manus

  12. sade

    Thank You Mrs.Marilyn for sharing this BRIGHT idea for join the contest,i really look forward to reading heartwarming messages.:)

  13. Pingback: Christmas Memories Contest | Spirit Lights The Way

  14. Pingback: Imagine | silkannthreades

Leave a Reply

