SOMEWHERE, SOMETHING IS WAITING…

learn in kindergard.

playground horse

 

 

Dear Mom,

Years ago, I got you the book by Robert Fulghum, ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW I LEARNED IN KINDERGARTEN. Your favorites from his list of the basic rules included these: Play fair, Don’t hit people, Clean up your own mess, Flush, Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody, and Share everything. (You once laughingly said that children could be counted on to share their mother’s age, chicken pox, and bad words. I think you were adding to an Erma Bombeck list with some of your own.)

Robert Fulghum shared his favorite information in his book, and everyone who read it learned something. I was thinking about that when I recently came across this quote by Carl Sagan: “Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” If we combine and paraphrase Fulghum and Sagan, we have this inspiration: Somewhere, something basic and honest is waiting to be shared with others.

So here’s an idea: why don’t you and I share our favorite quotes, and see how many of our blog buddies respond by sharing their favorite quotes? Think of all we could learn!

Okay, we’ll start with you. Because of the dementia, you probably don’t remember your favorites, but I do. One that you shared during both happy and sad times to keep things in perspective is from Ecclesiastes 3:11—“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven…”

One of my favorite quotes is a touching reminder of all those who’ve gone before us and made a difference in who we are. It’s by Native American writer Linda Hogan: “Walking. I am listening to a deeper way. Suddenly all my ancestors are behind me. Be still, they say. Watch and listen. You are the result of the love of thousands.”

And now, Mom, we’ll wait for our blog friends to comment or share their favorite quotes. You taught me this: everyone has something to share, and we can all learn from each other.

Molly's yarn and clay Indian wall hanging.

Molly’s yarn and clay Indian wall hanging.

Pottery plate from Taos, NM(all photos by Marylin Warner)

Pottery plate from Taos, NM
(all photos by Marylin Warner)

78 Comments

Filed under Dementia/Alzheimer's, friends, lessons about life, making a difference, memories for great-grandchildren, special quotations

78 responses to “SOMEWHERE, SOMETHING IS WAITING…

  1. and what does the Lord require of you
    but to do justice, and to love kindness,
    and to walk humbly with your God?
    Micah 6:8
    I just love the simplicity and completeness of this. Thanks for a great post

  2. what a beautiful post!

    wow; i have lots of quotes that i love… how about, ‘i have lived to thank God that not all of my prayers have been answered;… (Jean Ingelow)

    or

    All sunshine makes the desert…..(Arabian Proverb)

  3. My goto quote, Be the change you wish to see in the world.

  4. Just remembered hearing a Mexican Bishop say
    “you don’t change the world by changing people’s minds, you change the world by changing their hearts”.

  5. juliabarrett

    I have so many I wouldn’t know where to begin. I suppose most of them are negative – As ye sow so shall ye reap. Whatever is abhorrent to you do not do to your fellow. Whatever goes around comes around. Payback’s a bitch.
    But I also love this – The pen is a long arm from the grave. James Clavell, Shogun.

    • Actually, Julia, I don’t find those negative–threatening, maybe, but not negative–and also very true. But I wasn’t familiar with the James Clavell quote, and that’s one I’m definitely going to write down. Yea for the writer’s pen!

  6. juliabarrett

    Oh, beautiful post as usual, Marylin.

  7. “It matters not how strait the gate; how charged with punishments the scrolls; I am the Master of my fate; I am the Captain of my soul“. William Henley

    • When I was teaching and we came to this poem, I always brought in a chambered nautilus shell to show the risks taken in growth, and let the students see firsthand the lessons. Thanks for including this in our post, Elizabeth.

  8. Molly

    My “child like” side still thinks that Dr. Seuss has some of the best advice to share!

    “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

  9. Breathtakingly beautiful, especially love the Linda Hogan’s quote … to me it says it all!
    Here is one quote from one of my favorite poets just for you:
    Rainer Maria Rilke: ‘And now we welcome the new year, full of things that have never been.’

  10. I like this quote from the book Fierce Conversations by Susan Scott. “Let silence do the heavy lifting.” Sometimes we rush on and on with words and arguments, when we (Me) need to just be silent, and let people tell US what THEY think.

  11. “There are two great days in a person’s life – the day we are born and the day we discover why.” – William Barclay
    “Prayer is not a way of making use of God; prayer is a way of offering ourselves to God in order that He should be able to make use of us. It may be that one of our great faults in prayer is that we talk too much and listen too little. When prayer is at its highest we wait in silence for God’s voice to us; we linger in His presence for His peace and His power to flow over us and around us; we lean back in His everlasting arms and feel the serenity of perfect security in Him.” – William Barclay :)

  12. Very nice post! I shared my list of favorite quotes a few months ago (http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/101-in-1001-update-put-a-list-of-my-20-favorite-quotes-together/) and keep finding new quotes to add to my list on my PC. One of them is:
    “Learn from yesterday, live for today and hope for tomorrow.” ~ Albert Einstein
    I’m reminding myself of this every day.

  13. the first is from Shakespeare “To be or not to be’ and
    from Zig Ziglar
    People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing -
    that’s why we recommend it daily”

  14. Jim

    I saw this quotation during a TV report about the people of Newtown. It was on posterboard carried by the townspeople during a prayer vigil for the children and their teachers. My eyes teared as I read the poster:
    WE CHOOSE LOVE.
    THE PEOPLE OF NEWTOWN

  15. ‘All it takes for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing….’

  16. Don

    Rilke: “In times of trouble we should endeavour to stay close to one simple thing in nature.”

  17. Beautiful post and quotes. Currently my favourite quote is a little less deep. “Growing old is mandatory but growing up is optional” and I’m choosing not to grow up right now :)

  18. “No, do it NOW” by Ishbel Stronach – when MY procrastination gene kicks in (which is pretty regular)

    A wonderful post Marylin, truly. If there is anyone out there not being reached and touched by the kindness of your words and thoughts, well ……….. there is no hope for them

    • You are so encouraging, Tom, and I really appreciate you. And I absolutely love that your quote is by your wife Ishbel (thank you, Ishbel!)
      “No, do it NOW!” is a great quote–it should be on a T-shirt, a hot air balloon or a bumper sticker, don’t you think?

  19. “Blessed are the cracks for they let in the light.” Sue Bender, writer

  20. My mother is a master of doom and gloom thinking. In all honesty I feel her pessimistic and fearful nature is responsible for my eternal optimism and sunniness..I went completely in the other direction! So….although I don’t SAY these things, they were the first ones I remembered while reading your post:
    1. The laughter will turn to crying….
    2. I’m so glad I’m going out of this world and not coming in
    3. They’ll get theirs.

  21. Oh, man! I love so many quotes. I am waiting to come up with a good one myself someday:) Here’s one tho, “Everything in life that we really accept undergoes a change.” Katherine Mansfield
    I think of this when I am thrashing about striving for or pushing for change.

  22. Amy

    Love these quotes. It seems that I have different favorite quotes at different times.

  23. Kathleen Durbin

    I like this one:
    “A Moment for you ”
    “You are more important than you realize.
    If you’ve ever questioned whether what you think, say or do has value, stop! Your opinion counts, your words matter and your actions make a difference. Each and every day, through the lives you touch, you make this world a better place. Thank goodness you’re here! It wouldn’t be the same without you!” …author unknown

  24. I love being at the tail end of responses…I get to read everyone’s quotes. Mine isn’t a quote but a question put to the sick by a Native American Medicine Man: ” When was the last time you told your story?” We lost Mom just before Christmas and it has been a roller coaster of emotions and details. I am just thankful of the time I spent with her this past year recording her stories.” If not now,when?” I know you are so grateful you are recording your mother’s example to live by and her beautiful wisdom.

    • The Medicine Man’s question is one to take seriously, isn’t it? I can only imagine the roller coaster you’ve been on, Lynne, especially since you lost your mother just before Christmas. I’m so sorry. You might already be doing this, but I recommend writing Christmas memories about your mother now, and for the next year during each holiday, birthday, and anniversary, write at least one memory about your mom. I did that after my dad died of Alzheimer’s, and for each memory I had to go back almost a decade before his death to reach a touching, happy memory, but it was worth it.

  25. I loved your quotes and those of your commenters. Mine is a light-hearted one: “Live isn’t about how to survive the rain, but how to dance in the rain.” (It’s posted on my desk behind my computer screen.)

  26. Not a problem, Judy. In both, the goal is to dance in the rain, and that’s a wonderful image!

  27. “Live in the sunshine, swim in the sea, drink in the wild air”.
    Emerson

  28. Anna Marie Wray

    There is no higher calling in life than raising the children God has trusted to our care. (I do not know the author of this statement, but it is true.)

    • I don’t know the name of the author, either, but it’s a fine quote. It could be the True North code of both my mother and my grandmother. I have never known two women who loved children so dearly and regarded the raising of children as a trust from God like they have. Thanks for sharing this.

  29. Such a wonderfully uplifting post!

  30. Hi, thanks for dropping by my blog….I am gathering that you are helping your Mom through Dementia….it’s such a rough road to travel. We were with my husbands Mom dealing with Alzhiemer’s for 13 years…it’s heartbreaking.

    Jen

  31. First off, you caught my eye with that book title – especially relevant given Zackery’s current Kindergarten life. So, thanks for that little smile you gave me.
    Second, my favorite quote – of which I have many but this one always seems to stick in my head and come back to me – “Imagination is more important than knowledge.” – Albert Einstein. Sometimes it’s hard to remember to live this way, and with kids you’d think it would be easy. I got to be creative a lot this weekend, and for that I’m grateful, and learned a heck of a lot more than if I would have just read a book about something.
    Great post! :)

    • Thanks, Pamela, and Einsteins’s quote on imagination is one of my favorites, too. Enjoy this time while your boys are young and full of creative imaginations–it will also keep you young (and tired, ready for naps and bedtimes…and all those good things.)

  32. There are many variants on this one (many negative), but I prefer “Those who trust others will make fewer mistakes than those who do not.”

    • This is more positive than the “double-check trust” quotes I’ve heard, like “Fool me once and shame on you; fool me twice and shame on me.” Thanks for sharing this one. We need all the positive thinking we can get right now.

  33. petit4chocolatier

    Beautiful! I love the Carl Sagan quote :)

    • Sagan’s quote is one of my favorites. It can be applied to so many important things–even BLUE-iced butter cream!–you’ve inspired me to take Blue-icing on cupcakes to my mother this month. I know she’ll enjoy them. Thanks for your wonderful recipes.

  34. Thank you so much, Marylin…your post will be remembered for a very long time by all of us who read it.
    And yes, what fun to read through all of the comments and the quotes that were shared.:)
    A couple of my favorites:
    “The best thing to spend on your children is time.” Louise Hart
    “There are many ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all.” Jacqueline Kennedy
    I used to have a quote day every Tuesday on my blog: http://viviankirkfield.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/quotable-timeless-tuesdays-companionship/

  35. You’re so right, Vivian. I’m surprised that so many don’t realize what a book lover and literacy advocate Jacqueline Kennedy was, and how daughter Caroline carries on the tradition. I strongly recommend your quotes; thanks for sharing.

  36. George Bernard Shaw was a clever man with words. He said, “The only thing that is permanent is change.” Since change is happening with such speed I think of that one a lot.

  37. Beautiful quotes and photography Marylin ,Thanks for sharing :)

  38. Excellent idea, Marylin. I’ve really enjoyed perusing these quotes.
    My quote: “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.”
    ― A.W. Tozer

  39. What a terrific post!

    “Nobody grows old by living a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals. Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul”

    Samue Ullman (author of poem “Youth” written at age 78)

    “Don’t worry, don’t hurry and don’t forget to smell the flowers along the way”

    Walter Hagen

    I have lots more!

    Christine x

Leave a Reply

