The Sunshine Award

Thank you, Judith Evans, for The Sunshine Award. Your blog– innerhomestead.wordpress.com –is a delight to read, and I’m honored by your support of my “Things I Want To Tell my Mother.”

Now, to answer the Sunshine Award’s eight questions:  1) My favorite Christmas movie is IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE. I love the story, but I also always wished for my own angel-friend who needed to earn his wings by helping me.     2) I love all kinds of flowers, but the peony ranks at the top, especially white peonies because of their soft beauty and richly sweet fragrance.  3) My favorite non-alcoholic beverage is iced latte coffee.  4) My passion has always been writing: playing with words and ideas, telling stories, creating places and people who face big problems but find unusual ways to solve them. As a child, I had to learn to separate fictional story people, places, problems and solutions from real life.  5) My favorite time of year is autumn. When I was growing up we loved to rake leaves, jump in them, then rake them again so our parents could burn them at the curb. Nothing was better than the smell of burning leaves on a crisply cool evening. Leaf burning is no longer allowed, but I still love the sound and smell of fallen autumn leaves crunching beneath my feet as I take my walks.  6) My favorite time of day is dusk ~ the quiet, soft time just before dark.  7) My favorite physical activity is walking. This year I vowed to walk EVERY day–no exceptions, no excuses–and today is Day #238. On goal and still walking!  8) My favorite vacation place is Italy: Rome, Florence, Venice, the Blue Grotto, the Italian countryside. My ideal vacation would be to return with my husband, our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren.

And now, my favorite part of receiving The Sunshine Award is sharing the award with fellow bloggers. Please visit the sites of my nominees and enjoy their blogs.

http://thesimplecountrylife.com/  A prairie woman choosing to enjoy each season, in weather and in life; wonderful, uplifting and inspiring photography and poetry.                                                                                     http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/   The journey of an imperfect mama, told with honesty, insecurity, humor and encouragement.                                                                                                                                       http://nancyparkerbrummett.com/blog/    Gentle, inspiring insights that turn everyday simple events and situations into profound lessons.                                                                                                                                          http://viviankirkfield.wordpress.com/    Books, activities, encouragement and fun for children and their parents, grandparents and teachers; a valuable resource for children’s writers and a helpful guide for positive parenting participation.

25 Comments

Filed under friends, lessons about life, making a difference, The Sunshine Award, writing

25 responses to “The Sunshine Award

  1. juliabarrett

    Beautiful answers. Autumn – definitely. It’s a Wonderful Life – always on Christmas Eve.

  2. Thanks, Julia. If you want, I’ll share Clarence the angel with you. I’m pretty sure he can keep you safe from yellow jackets.

  3. Congratulations, my friend! You really deserve this award! :)

  4. Thanks so much, Marylin. It’s a privilege to be nominated!

  5. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your Back Porch stories and now your blog, Nancy, and The Sunshine Award is a perfect fit with both. Enjoy.

  6. Thank you for the award! Your blog has such a sweet message, and I look forward to learning more about you and your mother through your writings.

  7. Chuck & Helen Armstrong

    Keep them coming!

  8. I found myself nodding my head in agreement to many of your favorite things, especially your love of autumn. Whenever I think of moving to a year-round summer climate, I think about how much I’d miss fall. Nothing quite compares to the smell and the “feeling” of autumn air.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your lovely comment. It made my night. :)

  9. Well, thank you for the nomination! I could use some cheering up right now, so I really appreciate it. I love reading your answers, they can tell a lot about a person. I love It’s a Wonderful Life but since Elf came out, it’s become one of my Christmas favorites too, especially with my kids.

    Do I answer the same questions when accepting the award? What are the rules for this one?

  10. I’m glad the award came at the perfect time for you. Yes, you answer the same 8 questions, and my sponsor for the award, Judith Evans, explains the other details on her blog innerhomestead.wordpress.com
    Enjoy!

  11. Congratulations on the award, Judith has good taste picking your blog :)

  12. Can we have dibs on Clarence too please, Ishbel and I love that film. When we got married in 76 our first home was in Germany about a mile and a half from the camp where the amenities were. it was then I discovered I married a big kid, a mile and a half of scuffing through leaves on the pavement , in the road on the verge,she’s still doing it now. I feel compelled to join in now as she wont stop ;-]. Our fav vacation place is Paris especially the lingerie shops I have to visit with Ishbel and the ladies, who almost ROTF laughing at my attempts to communicate in French, not good, but apparently funny!

    Oh! And congratulations on the Sunshine Award you certainly bring it to lots of people with your letters xxxxx

    • Aw, of course you and Ishbel can borrow Clarence…though he gets feisty sometimes as he waits for his wings, and he may pretend to be you, Tom, and write an essay about one of your shocking regrets! ;=)

  13. Congratulations on the Sunshine Award, Marylin…you are definitely a ray of sunshine in my life. :) And thank you for passing it to me…I had seen your email, but was so wrapped up in getting prepared for the little spot on 9News TV about bullying: http://www.9news.com/shows/mornings/285636/229/How-to-recognize-if-your-child-is-being-bullied
    I have to run out to work right now…but will read your post tonight…and enjoy all that you’ve shared about yourself. :) And then visit Judith and learn about her. And then do my Sunshine Award post, so everyone can learn more about me!!!!

    • Vivian, I watched your interview on 9News, and it was excellent. To everyone reading this blog–parents, grandparents, teachers, friends and neighbors who care about children–click on the blue link in Vivian’s comment box above this one. She talks about changes to look for in children, getting them to talk, and specific steps to take against bullying. It’s a wonderful interview.

      • And you are a wonderful friend, Marylin! Thank you for your kind words and support. This is such an important topic…we all need to be talking about it…and then making sure our kids are safe. :)

  14. Pingback: Yeah, I got the Sunshine Award! | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

