THE HAIRCUT ~ guest blogger, Jan Cooper Magee

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi Mary,

Do you remember me,  Jan Cooper, (you always called me Julianne). As I look back on my childhood, I realize that growing up on Marblecrest Terrace in Fort Scott was a great place to be a child. Many memories come flooding back as I write this note to you.

I remember my childhood days when Marylin and I were together every minute.  Going “up town” was an event that was at the top our list for fun things to do.  I recall one afternoon with much clarity!  I was at your house playing and you announced that you’d be going to town soon.  Of course, Marylin and I wanted to go.  I was a little puzzled when you looked at me and said that you didn’t think you could take ME with you.  I’m sure I asked: “Why not?”  To my disappointment you told me that you just couldn’t’ take me with you because my hair just didn’t look very nice.  But, thank goodness, you had a solution to that problem.  You would simply give me a haircut before we left and then I would look just fine for our afternoon adventure to town.

Getting my hair cut was not one of my favorite things to do and I’m sure I’d been fussing about it for some time.  I didn’t (and still don’t) have a headful of beautiful, thick hair and I never really knew how my haircut would turn out.   I agreed, reluctantly, I’m sure, and said you could cut my hair.   Mary, you were very talented at many things, but as I remember cutting hair was not one of your more accomplished talents.  After a snip here and a snip there you made a little girl happy and I had a new summer hairdo.  You know, I don’t even remember if we ever got to town!  Sometime later as I was reminiscing about that afternoon I found out that you and my mother (Julia Cooper) had planned that haircut! I’m sure it wasn’t the worst haircut I ever received but I’m also quite sure it was much better that going to the local barber, Johnny Dobbins, who usually gave me my “beginning of the summer trim”.

I wish I could give you a big hug right now but I now live in Arkansas.  I have two children and six grandchildren. Thanks for being a part of my childhood.    Love you, “Julianne”

_________________________________________________________________

As a reminder, Mom, Jan’s dad was Dr.C. M. Cooper, our family dentist.  He also pierced my ears–with your permission–when I just “had” to have pierced ears and you didn’t want me using a needle and a potato. And just for the record: I thought you gave Jan a really good…well, it was an okay haircut. Better than my haircut at the time, which kind of looked like you put a bowl on my head and trimmed around it.

7 Comments

Filed under Dementia/Alzheimer's, experiments, friends, memories for grandchildren, memories for great-grandchildren, neighbors

7 responses to “THE HAIRCUT ~ guest blogger, Jan Cooper Magee

  1. Jim

    Fun memory, Jan. Very well written.

  2. Molly

    I actually remember Grandma telling me this story when she was cutting my hair once….she was given me a “tail” back in the day – yes they really were popular….I remember her doing a very good job….but mom kept saying Grandma had misunderstood the concept. Ohhhhh well, I thought I looked cool! Jan you and both can share neat memories of my grandma’s haircuts….thank you for sharing.

    • Grandma doesn’t have tattoos, Molly, but if you’ll remember when you were 4 and she was 64, you and Grandma went to the mall and both got your ears pierced. I came home from teaching and the two of you were filled with tales of your ear-piercing adventure!

  3. That’s quite a funny story! And a dentist piercing ears? First time I’ve ever heard this one!

    • And he filled teeth, too! (Actually, I had a fear of needles, so if I REALLY wanted my ears pierced, it was a start to get over that. Plus, his daughter, my friend Jan, had gotten her ears pieced, and she was with me.)
      The things we do!

Leave a Reply

